Philippe Verdelot: Madrigals for a Tudor King

Philippe Verdelot was the most important composer of Italian madrigals in the early 16th century and recognized as the greatest innovator of the genre.
A Frenchman, he occupied several important musical posts in Italy, including the Florentine posts of maestro di cappella at the Baptistry of S. Maria del Fiore and the great Duomo itself. In the mid 1520s, during his time in Florence, a set of part-books were assembled, probably under Verdelot's supervision, for the court of Henry VIII.
Most, if not all, of the works were composed by Verdelot. This is the first recording of the complete madrigals in the collection, which stands not only as the most exceptional of diplomatic musical gifts but is also an important source for the history of the early madrigal.

Buy now

Download booklet pdf
1. Italia mia bench’ el parlar’
2. Con l’angelico riso
3. Quanto sia lieto il giorno
4. Lasso, che se creduto
5. O dolce nocte   
6. Madonna qual certeça
7. Afflicti spirti mei
8. Dentr’ al mio cor’              
9. Quando nascesti, Amore?               
10. Piove da li occhi            
11. Pur troppo, donna
12. I vostri acuti dardi
13. Chi non fa prove, amore               
14. Liet’ è madonna et io pur               
15. Con lacrim’ et sospir’ negando porge         
16. Donna, se fera stella
17. Ognun si duol’ d’amore 
18. Altro non è el mio amor’
19. Madonna io v’ amo e taccio
20. Sì suave è l’inghanno
21. Se ben’ li occhi               
22. Cortese alma gentile
23. Quanta dolceça amore  
24. Donna che sete fra le donne belle
25. La bella donna
26. Deh, quant’ è dolc’ amor
27. Donna leggiadr’ et bella
28. Madonna, per voi ardo  
29. Amor, io sento l’alma
30. Ultimi mei sospiri
Released: Jan 2007
Length: 69 minutes
Artists: Lynda Sayce, Alamire
“Alamire are on fine form here, alternating several performance possibilities, as on their recent recording of Josquin for this label: solo lute, lute and voice, lute and vocal consort, or consort on its own. ”
Gramophone Magazine, June 2008